Home > News > Laird Championship Banquet

Laird Championship Banquet

Posted by Tom on March 15, 2016

Our banquet to celebrate the 2015 season was held on the evening of Thursday March 24th at the Hard Times Bar and Grill, on Wallace Terrace.   The evening started with a hearty meal of pasta, meatballs, and salad, served courtesy of Hard Times.  IMG_1988.jpgAfterwards, track announcer Spanky Robinson worked as the Master of Ceremonies and started by bringing up Laird owner and promoter, Donnie Varcoe.  Donnie thanked all the drivers, families and pit crews for their attendance during the 2015 season.  Spanky also thanked Rita Slater for her hard work in setting up the awards banquet.

The top 10 drivers in each of our four divisions were acknowledged.  Those drivers that competed 75% or more of our race schedule were honoured with plaques, and the top three drivers in each division were awarded with a plaque and a large mounted photo of their car.

In the Factory Four division, drivers receiving plaques were: Rbecca Fewchuk 7th, Chelsea Pace 6th, Brent Fewchuk 5th, and Jack Lannigan 4th.  The top three were John Carter 3rd, John Robinson 2nd, and Jacob Heimonen, the season champ.

In the Factory Stock Division drivers receiving plaques were: Ron Raynor Jr. 6th place, Jerry Ross 5th (accepted by his brother John), and Mark Porpealia 4th.  Top three in the division were Jarritt Varcoe 3rd, Keenan Spurway 2nd (absent - award accepted by uncle Rob Hiiemaa), and J.P. DelPaggio, the season champ.  Honourable mention was also given to our youngest racer at the track, Chase Wilson for his first feature win in the Factory Stock Division.  Chase also ran part of the season in the Late Model Division.

In the Laird Modified Division drivers receiving plaques were: Rick Ellis 7th place, Mark Laakso 6th (absent - accepted by John Ross), Jay Palumbo 5th (absent), and Dustin Jackson 4th (absent).  Top three in the division were Kevin OIcle 3rd, Keith King 2nd, and Mav MacDonald Jr. the season champ.  Honourable mention was also given to Tiana Kudlac for her 8th place finish in the division as a rookie.

Top drivers in the Super Late Model division were: Steven Baraluk 5th (absent), and Roddy Bolduc 4th (also absent).  Top three were Dan Byrnes 3rd, Keith King 2nd, and Rob Hiiemaa the season champ.

The ceremonies were closed with a final presentation to Rick Ellis and his wife Donna, acknowledging them for their long standing dedication to the sport.  The presentation was for lifetime passes to Laird Raceway.

A photo gallery of presentations at the event can be viewed here.